2012 W11 1 2500

History - The FIFA FIFPRO World 11 0f 2012

World 11 News

Share this quote

2012 W11 1 2500
The World 11 went to Spain: all eleven footballers who were elected for the 2012 FIFA FIFPRO World 11 played at a Spanish Liga club.

Three teams delivered all players for the 2012 World 11: Atletico Madrid, Barcelona and Real Madrid. Strangely enough there was no room for a Chelsea player, even though the English club won the Champions League. Also runner-up Bayern Munich did not produce a World 11 player.

Barcelona and Real both lost in the Champions League semi-finals, but still had the best players, according to the professional footballers who voted for the World 11.

Atletico won the Europa League and delivered one player, Radamel Falcao.

Once again, Spain won an international title (EURO 2012), which was a fair reason for six Spanish players to be elected.

World 11 2012 1100
Radamel Falcao and Marcelo both made their debut in the World 11
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas
Defenders: Marcelo Gerard Pique Sergio Ramos Dani Alves
Midfielders: Andres Iniesta Xabi Alonso Xavi
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo Radamel Falcao Lionel Messi
World 11 ceremony starts at 36.00 minutes

List of 55

One of the newcomers on the List of 55 Most Voted Players is Eden Hazard. The attacking midfielder would become the first ever Belgian player to receive a World 11 award (in 2019).

Goal keepers:

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus), Iker Casillas (Spain, Real Madrid), Peter Cech (Czech Republic, Chelsea), Joe Hart (England, Manchester City), Manuel Neuer (Germany, Bayern Munich).


Jordi Alba (Spain, Barcelona), Gareth Bale (Wales, Tottenham Hotspur), Giorgio Chiellini (Italy, Juventus), Ashley Cole (England, Chelsea), Dani Alves (Brazil, Barcelona), David Luiz (Brazil, Chelsea), Patrice Evra (France, Manchester United), Rio Ferdinand (England, Manchester United), Mats Hummels (Germany, Borussia Dortmund), Branislav Ivanovic (Serbia, Chelsea), Vincent Kompany (Belgium, Manchester City), Philipp Lahm (Germany, Bayern Munich), Marcelo (Brazil, Real Madrid), Javier Mascherano (Argentina, Barcelona), Pepe (Portugal, Real Madrid), Gerard Piqué (Spain, Barcelona), Carles Puyol (Spain, Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid), John Terry (England, Chelsea), Thiago Silva (Brazil, Paris St-Germain)


Xabi Alonso (Spain, Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Spain, Barcelona), Cesc Fabregas (Spain, Barcelona), Steven Gerrard (England, Liverpool), Eden Hazard (Belgium, Chelsea), Andrés Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona), Frank Lampard (England, Chelsea), Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Mesut Özil (Germany, Real Madrid),,rea Pirlo (Italy, Juventus), Franck Ribéry (France, Bayern Munich), David Silva (Spain, Manchester City), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany, Bayern Munich), Yaya Touré (Ivory Coast, Manchester City), Xavi Hernández (Spain, Barcelona)


Sergio Aguero (Argentina, Manchester City), Mario Balotelli (Italy, Manchester City), Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid), Edinson Cavani (Uruguay, AS Napoli), Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast, Shanghai Shenhua), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon, Anzhi Makhachkala), Radamel Falcao (Colombia, Atletico Madrid), Mario Gomez (Germany, Bayern Munich), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain), Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Neymar (Brazil, Santos), Robin van Persie (The Netherlands, Manchester United), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United), Luis Suarez (Uruguay, Liverpool)

2012 W11 Eriksen Alaba 1100

Danish midfielder Christian Eriksen (then Ajax) and Austrian defender David Alaba (Bayern Muninch) also voted for the 2012 World 11.