2011 W11 2500

History - The FIFA FIFPRO World 11 0f 2011

World 11 News

Share this quote

2011 W11 2500
Barcelona and Real Madrid tightened their grip on the FIFA FIFPRO World 11. In 2011, only two players did not play for these Spanish teams: Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic.

In 2011, Barcelona reconquered the Champions League, arguably the strongest club competition on the planet. Five Barcelona players found themselves in the World 11, joined by four Madrid players. The two teams met each other in their national competition’s final.

Manchester United’s Rooney and Vidic tried to beat Barcelona in the Champions League final at Wembley, but even though the English striker scored, they had to relinquish the title to the Spanish team.

World 11 2011 1100
Carles Puyol and Lionel Messi officially opened the vote for the 2011 World 11
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas
Defenders: Sergio Ramos Gerard Pique Nemanja Vidic Dani Alves
Midfielders: Andres Iniesta Xabi Alonso Xavi
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo Wayne Rooney Lionel Messi
2011 W11 Rooney Xavi FIFPRO
Wayne Rooney and Xavi had a meet and greet with the FIFPRO Board before the award ceremony

Thank you

Andres Iniesta, Daniel Alves, Wayne Rooney and Nemanja Vidic thanked their colleagues for voting them onto the World 11.

The List of 55

For the first time in the seven-year history of the World 11, a player from a non-European club had made the List of 55 Most Voted Players: Neymar, the Brazilian forward of South American champions Santos.

Barcelona was the team with the most players on this year’s list. The reigning European and Spanish champions saw twelve players nominated, one more than their arch rivals Real Madrid.

Goal keepers

Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus, Italy), Iker Casillas (Real Madrid, Spain), Manuel Neuer (Bayern München, Germany), Edwin van der Sar (Manchester United, The Netherlands), Victor Valdes (Barcelona, Spain)


Eric Abidal (Barcelona, France), Daniel Alves (Barcelona, Brazil), Ricardo Carvalho (Real Madrid, Portugal), Ashley Cole (Chelsea, England), Patrice Evra (Manchester United, France), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United, England), Vincent Kompany (Manchester City, Belgium), Philipp Lahm (Bayern München, Germany), Lúcio (Inter, Brazil), David Luiz (Chelsea, Brazil), Maicon (Inter, Brazil), Marcelo (Real Madrid, Brazil), Alessandro Nesta (AC Milan, Italy), Pepe (Real Madrid, Portugal), Gerard Piqué (Barcelona, Spain), Carles Puyol (Barcelona, Spain), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid, Spain), Thiago Silva (AC Milan, Brazil), John Terry (Chelsea, England), Nemanja Vidic (Manchester United, Serbia)


Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid, Spain), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur, Wales), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona, Spain), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona, Spain), Andrés Iniesta (Barcelona, Spain), Kaka (Real Madrid, Brazil), Frank Lampard (Chelsea, England), Nani (Manchester United, Portugal), Mesut Özil (Real Madrid, Germany), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus, Italy), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Bayern München, Germany), David Silva (Manchester City, Spain), Wesley Sneijder (Inter, The Netherlands), Yaya Touré (Manchester City, Ivory Coast), Xavi (Barcelona, Spain)


Sergio Agüero (Manchester City, Argentina), Karim Benzema (Real Madrid, France), Edinson Cavani (Napoli, Uruguay), Didier Drogba (Chelsea, Ivory Coast), Samuel Eto’o (Anzhi Makhachkala, Cameroon), Radamel Falcao (Atlético Madrid, Colombia), Mario Gómez (Bayern München, Germany), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (AC Milan, Sweden), Lionel Messi (Barcelona, Argentina), Neymar (Santos, Brazil), Robin van Persie (Arsenal, The Netherlands), Cristiano Ronaldo (Real Madrid, Portugal), Wayne Rooney (Manchester United, England), Luis Suárez (Liverpool, Uruguay), David Villa (Barcelona, Spain)

2011 W11 Navas Matuidi 1100
Costa Rica's Keylor Navas and France's Blaise Matuidi also voted