PSAPP 1 Vote 1100

A Greek milestone: women players elected on the board


Share this quote

PSAPP 1 Vote 1100

The Greek professional footballers association PSAPP have reached a significant milestone, as two women were voted on to their board of directors for the first time.  

Haroula Demetriou and Eleni Kakambouki, both Greek internationalists, were elected by their fellow professionals during PSAPP’s general assembly, which took place earlier this week in Athens. Demetriou was elected as position of secretary general, with Kakambouki becoming the Head of Women’s Football Development. 

Last year, the union changed its statues, allowing women players to become members and thus, have a vote in the running of the organisation. Fani Doiranli officially became the first women to vote at a PSAPP election when she casted her ballot.  

Around 100 players – men and women - attended the general assembly in which former goalkeeper Giorgos Bantis remained in his position as president. "The PSAPP has turned a page since for the first time, female footballers are part of our board of directors,” said Bantis, after the formation of the board, this Thursday.  

“This is part of our actions to eliminate any inequality that prevails in football. It is our aim to work for the good of the footballer - the men’s and women’s footballer - and sport in general, and for this we need the active participation of all our members". 

Almost 1,000 players voted for the new board. Besides the 100 players in attendance, 860 footballers officially authorised other players to vote for them as they could not attend the assembly.  

FIFPRO’s Deputy General Secretary Simon Colosimo and Senior Legal Counsel Loic Alves attended the general assembly.

The new PSAPP board consists of:  
President: Giorgos Bantis
Vice-President: Dimitrios Kourbelis (Panathinaikos and Greece)
Secretary General: Haroula Dimitriou (Panathinaikos and Greece)
Treasurer: Christos Tasoulis (Asteras Tripolis)
Special Secretary: Christos Gromitsaris (Niki Volos)
Special Advisor: Giorgos Masouras (Olympiakos and Greece)
Special Advisor: Anastasios Bakasetas (Trabzonspor and Greece)
Head of Women's Football Development: Eleni Kakambouki (Lugano and Greece)
Player Communication Manager: Xenofon Panos (Niki Volos)
PSAPP 2 Bantis And Doiranli 1100
Giorgos Bantis and Fani Doiranli