Share this quote

Women W11 2023
  • Men’s and Women’s World 11 – voted by the players – revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards in London, England
  • Lionel Messi extends all-time record of successive appearances 
  • Several Women’s World Cup stars make World 11 debut

Voted for by the players, the FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11 and FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11 were both revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards in London, England on Monday – celebrating the best footballers in the current game.

FIFPRO rounds up stats, figures, and records on the 2023 World 11, which saw yet another Lionel Messi milestone, several Women’s World Cup stars making their debut, and Manchester City treble-winners dominating the men’s team of the year.


Vinicius Jr is the first Brazilian forward to be included in the Men’s World 11 since Neymar Jr was voted into the team in 2017. It brings the number of all-time Men’s World 11 appearances for Brazil to 34, second only to Spain with 45.


Only two players in the 2023 Women’s World 11 do not hail from Spain or England: Sam Kerr (Australia) and Alex Morgan (USA).

World 11: By the players, for the players


2008 was the last time three English players – John Terry, Rio Ferdinand and Steven Gerrard – made a single Men’s World 11. That changed when John Stones, Kyle Walker and Jude Bellingham were named in the 2023 edition.


Mary Earps is the fifth goalkeeper to be voted into the Women’s World 11 since the award launched in 2015. She joins a list of celebrated stoppers that includes Christiane Endler, Hope Solo, Hedvig Lindhal and Sari van Veenendaal.


Never before has there been so many Manchester City players in one World 11 edition. The inclusion of John Stones, Kyle Walker, Ruben Dias, Kevin De Bruyne, Bernardo Silva and Erling Haaland means City boast six players. Not since Barcelona in 2010 – then managed by current City boss Pep Guardiola – has a team contributed six players to one single World 11.

Man City UCL Trophy


Alex Morgan and Lucy Bronze making the Women’s World 11 for a sixth time means they are just one appearance behind record-holder Wendie Renard (7).


Twelve players have been voted into the World 11 for the first time. Seven Women’s World Cup stars are making their debut: La Roja duo Aitana Bonmati and Olga Carmona, and Lionesses Mary Earps, Alex Greenwood, Ella Toone, Alessia Russo and Lauren James. Meanwhile, John Stones, Kyle Walker, Bernardo Silva, Jude Bellingham and Vinicius Jr are the five men’s players who have been selected for the first time in the World 11.


No-one has more World 11 appearances than Lionel Messi (17). The Argentinian’s inclusion in the 2023 edition means he has been voted in every World 11 since 2007, a year in which he was included alongside the likes of Fabio Cannavaro, Ronaldinho and Didier Drogba. Cristiano Ronaldo ranks second in World 11 appearances (15).

2007 W11 Drogba And Messi 1
Lionel Messi (right) receiving his FIFPRO World 11 trophy in 2007


Ruben Dias and Bernardo Silva’s inclusion in the 2023 edition brings the number of all-time Portuguese World 11 appearances to 19; made up of Cristiano Ronaldo (15), Ruben Dias (2), Joao Cancelo (1) and Bernardo Silva (1). It means Portugal are ranked third in all-time appearances behind Brazil (34) and Spain (45). 


Players from 69 countries voted for the 2023 FIFA FIFPRO World 11. The 2023 Women’s World 11 marked a record-breaking year for voting with 6,075 players making selections, while 21,964 players voted for the 2023 Men's World 11.


The total number of players that have featured in the Men’s and Women’s World 11 is 136. Since 2005, 85 players have appeared in the Men’s World 11; since 2015, 51 players have featured in the Women’s World 11.


No player received more 2023 World 11 votes from their fellow professionals than Erling Haaland (14,011). Behind Haaland in second was Kevin de Bruyne with 11,296 selections. Goalkeeper Mary Earps received the most votes in the Women’s World 11 (2,755) followed by Aitana Bonmati (2,534).