2008 World 11 2500

History - The FIFPRO World 11 of 2007-2008

World 11 News

Share this quote

2008 World 11 2500
The 2007-2008 FIFPRO World 11 marked the end of one era and the beginning of another. As Italian, French and Brazilian players dominated the World 11 in its early years, Spanish players started taking over their reigns.

Spain won EURO 2008 in a convincing style and found four of its players in the World 11: Iker Casillas, Sergio Ramos, Xavi and Fernando Torres. It would mark the beginning of Spanish dominance in the World 11.

World 11 2008 1100
Sergio Ramos, Iker Casillas, Steven Gerrard and Fernando Torres receive their World 11 awards
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas
Defenders: Carles Puyol John Terry Rio Ferdinand Sergio Ramos
Midfielders: Kaka Steven Gerrard Xavi
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo Fernando Torres Lionel Messi

Both the English Premier League and the Spanish Liga had five of their stars in the World 11. 

Manchester United won the Champions League, beating Chelsea in the final. John Terry, who captained Chelsea in the final, made his fourth consecutive World 11, the only player who had been chosen in the first four years of this election.

Cristiano Ronaldo was one of two United players receiving the World 11 award, Rio Ferdinand being the other one. It would be his only World 11 trophy. 

Ronaldo had an incredible season at Manchester United, for which the 23-year old Portuguese player scored 42 goals.

World 11 2008 Rio Ronaldo 1

The list of 55

Nine of the Spanish players winning EURO 2008, also deserved a mention on the List of 55 Most Voted Players. Seven of them would go on to win a World 11 award. Only two of them would miss out: midfielders Cesc Fabregas and Marcos Senna. 

W11 Shortlist 2008 1100