World 11 2007 2500

History - The FIFPRO World 11 of 2006-2007

World 11 News

Share this quote

World 11 2007 2500
The 2006/2007 FIFPRO World 11 is a memorable one, as it marked the debut of two exceptional players who have shattered many, many records for over the course of a decade: Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi.

During the 2006/2007 season, both Ronaldo (22) and Messi (20) became star players at their clubs, Manchester United and Barcelona respectively.

However, they were not the biggest stars just yet, as two Brazilian players were still ahead in the World 11 voting: Kaka and Ronaldinho.

Messi received the World 11 award together with two of his teammates, Ronaldinho and Carles Puyol.

World 11 2007 1100
FIFPRO President Philippe Piat presenting the World 11 award to Alessandro Nesta and Kaka
Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Buffon
Defenders: Carles Puyol John Terry Fabio Cannavaro Alessandro Nesta
Midfielders: Steven Gerrard Kaka Cristiano Ronaldo
Forwards: Ronaldinho Didier Drogba Lionel Messi

In the history of World 11 (until 2019), only two African players managed to become part of this unique team. In 2006, Samuel Eto'o was chosen. In 2007, it was Didier Drogba's turn.

2007 W11 Drogba And Messi 1
Didier Drogba and Lionel Messi, who received the award from then FIFPRO General Secretary Theo van Seggelen

The List of 55

Two midfielders made their first appearance on the List of 55 Most Voted Players: Xavi and Andres Iniesta. Both Spain and Barcelona midfielders would receive multiple World 11 awards later on: Xavi was picked six times, Iniesta on nine occasions.

2007 World 11 Shortlist 1100