World Cup Award Winners

Players recognised with individual awards at 2022 World Cup


Share this quote

World Cup Award Winners
  • Argentina won third World Cup after penalty shoot-out victory against France

  • Young Player, Golden Glove, Golden Boot, and Golden Ball awards presented after final 

  • FIFPRO recaps the winners of the Qatar 2022 player awards

After Argentina claimed their third men’s World Cup crown following a penalty shoot-out victory against France, four players were recognised for their outstanding performances with individual awards.

The Young Player, Golden Glove, Golden Boot, and Golden Ball awards were all presented before La Albiceleste lifted the men’s World Cup trophy – which closed the curtain on four thrilling weeks of international football. FIFPRO recaps the winners of the player awards at Qatar 2022.

Young Player Award: Enzo Fernandez

Age: 21
Position: Midfielder
Club: Benfica
Nation: Argentina

Enzo Fernandez was crowned the best young player at Qatar 2022. The 21-year-old, who only made his senior debut for Argentina in September 2022, played in all of his country’s seven games at the tournament.

The midfielder saw off stern competition from the likes of team-mate Julian Alvarez, England’s Jude Bellingham, Portugal’s Goncalo Ramos, and France’s Aurelien Tchouameni to claim the award.

What they said

"I know Enzo very well, here from the national team and I also played against him in the Champions League. He deserves it, because he’s a spectacular kid and a very important player for us." – Lionel Messi on Enzo Fernandez.

Enzo Fernandez (1)

Golden Glove Award: Emiliano Martinez

Age: 30
Position: Goalkeeper
Club: Aston Villa
Nation: Argentina

After helping Argentina to a Copa America triumph last year, Emiliano Martinez went one further by adding a global title to his list of international trophies. The stopper kept three clean sheets at Qatar 2022, as well as coming out victorious in two shoot-outs.

Martinez played every minute of Argentina’s campaign and saved Kingsley Coman's spot-kick in the final shoot-out.

What they said

"The World Cup is something I have been dreaming of. I have no words to express what I'm feeling." – Emiliano Martinez.

Emiliano Martinez

Golden Boot Award: Kylian Mbappe

Age: 23
Position: Forward
Club: Paris Saint-Germain
Nation: France

Kylian Mbappe took home the Golden Boot Award after finishing top scorer with eight goals. Mbappe made history by becoming just the second man to net a World Cup final hat-trick, after England’s Geoff Hurst in 1966. With four goals across 2018 and 2022, the talisman has also established himself as the highest-scoring player in World Cup final history.

Mbappe is a two-time FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11 winner, having been named in the 2018 and 2019 teams.

Kylian Mbappe

Golden Ball Award: Lionel Messi

Age: 35
Position: Forward
Club: Paris Saint-Germain
Nation: Argentina

Lionel Messi made history by becoming the first man to win the World Cup Golden Ball twice. After first claiming the award for the World Cup’s best player at Brazil 2014, Messi picked up the Qatar 2022 gong after providing seven goals and three assists – and helping Argentina win the trophy for the first time in 32 years. Mbappe and Luka Modric received the Silver Ball and Bronze Ball respectively.

Messi, who has been named in 15 successive FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11s, netted his 97th and 98th goals for Argentina in the final.

What they said

"Messi should have a place in the next World Cup. If he wants to continue playing, the '10' will always be his." – Argentina manager Lionel Scaloni.

Lionel Messi World Cup