See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


FIFPro is planning a World XI for female professional footballers.

The International Players Union is working on a project for women’s players in which they will be able to vote for their team of the year.

In a test run, FIFPro has collected several hundred votes  both in person and by email from national-team footballers including Brazil’s Marta, Japan’s Saki Kumagai, Sweden’s Lotta Schelin and New Zealand’s Alexandra Riley.

The results of the trial run are scheduled to be made public at the end of January. Caroline Jönsson, chairman of FIFPro’s women’s football committee, traveled to Olympique Lyonnais in France and teams in Sweden and Finland to help oversee voting.

“The players are so happy because they have been asking us for this,” said Jönsson, who played 80 times as a goalkeeper for Sweden and appeared in the women’s 2003 World Cup final. “It has been an enormous success.”

There won’t be an official awards ceremony because this is just a practice run. Even so, there will be an informal recognition for the eleven players who are chosen.

“The results of the voting will be very interesting,” Tijs Tummers, director of player services at FIFPro. "Watch for the announcement in January."

The plan is for the women’s World XI to eventually have equal billing to the men’s version. FIFPro’s 58 member unions have collected a record of more than 26,000 votes for the men’s world XI.

In the top picture below, Olympique Lyonnais players fill out their voting forms. Lotta Schelin (background) and left to right: Amandine Henry, Élodie Thomis, Corine Petit, Saki Kumagai, Camille Abily and Eugénie Le Sommer.

In the second row of pictures, Alexandra Riley (Rosengard), Julia Wahlberg, Andrine Hegerberg and Catrine Johansson (Goteborg), Ifeoma Dieke (VGIK),  Anita Asante and Line Roddik  (Rosengard).

Row three: Emeraude Mawanda (Congo), Lisa Klinga, Michelle Pao, Johanna Andersson, Kirsty Yallop (VGIK), Rita Chikwelu (Umea IK) and Marta (Brazil).

Row four: players from the national teams of Portugal, Australia and Finland


Women voting640