See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


William Kvist has retained his title of Danish Footballer of the Year. The midfielder held off Cristian Eriksen, Andreas Bjelland, Dennis Rommedahl and Niki Zimling to clinch his second trophy.


Kvist, a midfielder of the Danish national team and German club VfB Stuttgart, was chosen by all footballers in the Danish league and Danish professional footballers who are playing abroad. The vote was organized by Spillerforeningen, the Danish professional footballers’ association.


In 2010, Kvist was awarded after a stellar season at FC Kopenhagen. Now, he picks up the 2011 award based on his efforts with Stuttgart, were he has become a force as a defensive midfielder.


‘For me, this is a sign that the things I did so well at FC Kopenhagen, will also work for me at VfB Stuttgart. I think that I have taken a step towards another level. That was also my plan when leaving Denmark. I want to improve myself each year. Therefore I feel very proud to receive this award once again. It is the nicest prize a footballer from Denmark can receive.’