See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


After travelling to Paris, LyonTokyo, Faro and Koblenz, FIFPro representatives handed over the last of the inaugural women's World XI awards in Washington D.C.

Hope Solo, Carli Lloyd, Julie Johnston and Meghan Klingenberg received their glass trophies a day before travelling to Brazil to represent the U.S. at the Rio Olympics.

It's the first time FIFPro has organized a World XI for women. The first edition for men was in 2005. The men's team was unveiled at FIFA's Ballon d'Or gala in Zurich since 2009.

"It means the world to me," Solo said. "I remember first going to Zurich for the Ballon d'Or (in 2011) and thinking, gosh, there are 11 of the men's players but no women's team.''

"This award is a testament to the growth of the women's game."

Klingenberg polished her award with the sleeve of her U.S. training jersey. "Thank you, thank you," she said. "This is great."

In Washington D.C., FIFPro spoke to each of the four American players, asking them to describe each other's play. See the video below:

The World XI

Female players of 33 different nationalities in 20 countries participated in the women's World XI vote late last year.

The 2015 World XI was as follows (pictured left to right, starting with top row):


Hope Solo (USA, Seattle Reign FC)


Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)

Meghan Klingenberg (USA, Houston Dash) *now with Portland Thorns

Kadeisha Buchanan (Canada, West Virginia Mountaineers)

Julie Johnston (USA, Chicago Red Stars)


Carli Lloyd (USA, Houston Dash)

Amandine Henry (France, Lyon) * now with Portland Thorns

Aya Miyama (Japan, Okoyama Yunogo Belle)


Celia Sasic (Germany, 1.FFC Frankfurt) *now retired

Eugenie Le Sommer (France, Lyon)

Anja Mittag (Germany, PSG)

FIFPro members UNFP (France), SJPF (Portugal), J-PFA (Japan) and the MLS Players Union (USA) helped us hand out the awards.

2015 FIFPro Women World XI 640