See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Ten footballers made their debut on the shortlist for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2010, many of whom are young talents who appear to have a bright future.


Esteban Cambiasso and Diego Forlán are the two veterans among the ten newcomers. Cambiasso deserved his spot on the shortlist after a great campaign with Inter. The 30-year old midfielder from Argentina was very influential during Inter’s successful year; winning not only the Italian championship, but also the Champions League.


Diego Forlán and his team mates from Uruguay surprised the world by advancing to the semi-finals of the World Cup in South Africa. The 31-year old striker received the Golden Ball being the Best Player of the Tournament. And he also won the Europa League with Atlético Madrid.


Three young German players showcased themselves in South Africa: Bastian Schweinsteiger (26), Mesut Özil (22) and Thomas Müller (21) were in great shape and helped Germany secure the third place, after impressive wins over England and Argentina. Schweinsteiger and Müller also reached the final of the Champions League with their club, Bayern München.



Midfield maestro Özil moved from Werder Bremen to Real Madrid, where he linked up with Gonzalo Higuain (22) and Marcelo (22), two other new players on the shortlist. Higuain is one of Real Madrid’s top goal scorers in 2010, Marcelo has secured his place in the squad as an attacking left back.


Thiago Silva (26) and Michel Bastos (27) appear to be two of the future members of Brazil’s defensive line-up. Thiago Silva proved his quality at AC Milan, while Olympique Lyonnais' Bastos was a regular during the World Cup.


No World Cup or league titles for Gareth Bale in 2010. But the 21-year old Welshman has convinced many of his colleagues in the professional football world with his play of late. The lefty wingback is very quick and can shoot the ball, as he proved in two matches against Champions League-winners Inter.


Click here to see a complete overview of all players nominated on the shortlist.