See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr




JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 770

Eugeneson Lyngdoh and Sandesh Jhingan were chosen by their peers as the best Indian footballers for 2014-15. They were among the best of the I League and the Indian Super League (ISL) who were honoured at the Football Players Association of India (FPAI) awards.

More than 300 guests attended the glittering ceremony held at Hotel Novotel in Kolkata, including current and former players, dignitaries and members of the Press. They were on hand to applaud their contemporaries and  celebrate the best of Indian football in the past year. The FPAI awards are an opportunity for footballers across India’s professional leagues to choose among their peers those who had exceled in the past season.

The awards given out on the night were split between the I League and ISL. The I League was formed in 2007 as a 10 team league running yearly from January to May. The ISL is a new iteration of professional football in the country which completed its inaugural season in December 2014. Both leagues were established in order to increase the level of professional football in the country.

Lyngdoh and Sony Norde, as best Indian player and best foreign player respectively, were chosen by their colleagues as the standouts in the I League. Playing with Bengaluru Lyngdoh was named the I-League’s midfielder of the season while Norde helped his club Mohun Bagan win the 2015 I League title. Sandesh Jhingan and Iain Hume won the equivalent awards for the ISL after both had strong seasons with their club, Kerala Blasters.

“It is an honour to be here celebrating the best players from the past seasons in India’s top professional football leagues,” said FPAI President Renedy Singh, a former member of the Blasters and current Indian international.

The players were able to vote on their choice for coach of the season as well. This award went to Royal Wahingdoh’s Santosh Kashyap who took his side to third during the 2014-15 I League season. The ISL’s best coach award went to Antonio Habas, the Spanish born coach of Atletico de Kolkata, champions of the inaugural Super League season.

Singh and the FPAI also handed out a special award honouring the fans’ choice for I League player of the year. The fans chose Jayesh Rane, Mumbai FC’s diminutive winger, as player of the year. Votes were submitted through the FPAI’s website by fans from across the country and Rane was noticeably thrilled to be picked by the supporters.

The full list of award winners is as follows:


I League best young player: Thongkhosiem Haokip (Pune FC)

I league best Indian player: Eugeneson Lyngdoh (Bengaluru FC)

I league best foreign player: Sony Norde (McDowell Mohun Bagan)

I league coach of the year: Santosh Kashyap (Royal Wahingdoh)

I league fans player of the year: Jayesh Rane (Mumbai FC)

ISL Indian player of the year: Sandesh Jhingan (Kerala Blasters)

ISL Foreign Player of the year: Iain Hume (Kerala Blasters)

ISL coach of the year: Antonio Habas (Atletico de Kolkata)