See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


FIFA and France Football have today announced the names of the players on the shortlist for the FIFA Ballon d’Or (the World Player of the Year). The shortlist of the FIFA/FIFPro World XI will be announced later this year.

The final decisions will be made by the captains and head coaches of the men’s and women’s national teams as well as by international media representatives selected by France Football.

The winner will be revealed at the first FIFA Ballon d’Or gala as part of a televised ceremony at the Zurich Kongresshaus on 10 January 2011.

The FIFA/FIFPro World XI, organised by FIFPro and chosen by all the professional players around the world, will also be presented during the gala.

Shortlists for the FIFA Ballon d’Or Gala 2010

The following 23 men (in alphabetical order) are in contention for the FIFA Ballon d’Or 2010:

Xabi Alonso (Spain), Daniel Alves (Brazil), Iker Casillas (Spain), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal), Didier Drogba (Côte d’Ivoire), Samuel Eto’o (Cameroon), Cesc Fabregas (Spain), Diego Forlán (Uruguay), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana), Andrés Iniesta (Spain), Júlio César (Brazil), Miroslav Klose (Germany), Philipp Lahm (Germany), Maicon (Brazil), Lionel Messi (Argentina), Thomas Müller (Germany), Mesut Özil (Germany), Carles Puyol (Spain), Arjen Robben (Netherlands), Bastian Schweinsteiger (Germany), Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands), David Villa (Spain) and Xavi (Spain).