See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Renedy Singh is the new President of the Indian professional footballers association FPAI. The former player of the Indian national team is the successor to Bhaichung Bhutia.

Bhutia stepped down after serving as President of the FPAI from its foundation in 2006. He will continue to serve on FIFPro's Technical Committee as the representative of FIFPro Division Asia. Bhutia will also be an adviser and a life member of the FPAI.

Renedy Singh was unanimously elected as the new President. Potsangbam Renedy Singh is a 34-year old midfielder for IMG Reliance. He has played for various clubs in India and has been a member of the Indian national team till 2011. The former captain made 89 appearances for India, scoring 15 times.

Since its foundation in 2006, Singh was a board member of the FPAI. He attended the FIFPro Division Asia conference in Melbourne, Australia, last year.

FPAI board and senior members met in Kolkata on Monday 27th January. Among other things that were discussed were: the standard contract for all players, the Indian Football Awards 2014 and the development of the new FPAI office.

They also decided on the composition of the board. Four men were appointed as the Vice Presidents: Sunil Chetri , Abhishek Yadav , Clifford Miranda and Alvito D'Cunha. Simon Colosimo (Australia) was elected as the Vice President representing foreign players in India. The new board will start working from March 1st, 2014.

Deepak Mondal will continue as the Honorary Treasurer of the FPAI and Jahan Mehta as the Honorary General Secretary. The President, Honorary General Secratary and Treasurer will serve for a maximum of 3 terms. It is compulsory for them to take a break of one year after these 3 terms.