See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


It is that time of the year again, when professional footballers chose the best players in their countries.

A number of FIFPro player unions recently organised a Player of the Year gala.

An overview of winners in Cyprus, Czech Republic, Malta and Slovenia.

A former Arsenal player won four awards on Cyprus. 



Georgios Efrem was almost constantly in the spotlights during the awards ceremony organised by Cypriot players union PASP. The forward of APOEL and Cyprus’ national team left this special night with four prizes: Best Cypriot Player, Goal of the Year, Member of Team of the Year, and Most Valuable Player. The 26-year old former Arsenal academy player helped APOEL clinch its fourth consecutive league title by scoring 11 times among other things.

More winners from Cyprus:

Bext XI (Team of the Year):
Goalkeeper: Constantinos Panagi (Omonia)
Defenders: Carlao (APOEL), Constantinos Laifis (Anorthosis), David Català Jiménez (AEK Larnaca), Zhivko Milanov (APOEL).
Midfielders: Nuno Assis (Omonia), Kostakis Artymatas (APOEL), Joan Tomàs Campasol (AEK Larnaca).
Forwards: Georgios Efrem (APOEL), André Alves (AEK Larnaca), Tomás De Vincenti (APOEL).

Best Foreign Player: Tomás De Vincenti (APOEL, Argentina)
Best Coach: Thomas Christiansen (AEK Larnaca)

efreem 640Georgios Efrem 


With Jean-Marc Bosman in attendance as a guest of honour, the Maltese PFA celebrated the best in their game. Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro was voted Player of the Year by his peers on the island. With 15 goals and 10 assists in 30 matches the Brazilian born attacking midfielder proved his value for runners-up Hibernians FC.

More award winners from Malta:

MFPA Best XI (Team of the Year):
Goalkeeper: Andrea Cassar (Tarxien Rainbows);
Defenders: Justin Grioli (Balzan), Bruno Oliveira (Tarxien), Enrico Pepe (Floriana), Joseph Zerafa (Birkirkara)
Midfielders: Paul Fenech (Balzan), Bjorn Kristensen (Hibernians), Gilmar da Silva Ribeiro (Hibernians)
Forwards: Jhonnattann Benites (Valletta), Alfred Effiong (Balzan), Matteo Piciollo (Floriana)

Best Young Player: Lydon Micallef (Balzan)
Best Female Player: Stephania Farrugia (Birkirkara)

2016 MFPA Gilmar 640

Gilmar and Lydon Micallef 


In Ljubljana, the Slovenian players union SPINS, honoured the best male and female footballers in Slovenia. Rok Kronaveter and Manja Rogan respectively received the title of Best Male Player and Best Female Player.

Kronaveter is a midfielder for Olimpia Ljubljana, who last weekend took the Slovenian premier league title. Kronaveter’s closest rivals in the election were his team mates Miha Zajc and Andraz Sporar, who finished second and third respectively. As a ‘consolation’ 21-year old Miha Zajc was named Best Young Footballer.

Kronaveter, Zajc and Sporar are three of seven Olimpia players who were chosen in the Team of the Year, the SPINS XI.

Goalkeeper: Nejc Vidmar (Olimpija);
Defenders: Nemanja Mitrovic (Olimpija), Nejc Skubic (NK Domzale), Matic Fink (Olimpija), Toni Datkovic (FC Luka Koper);
Midfielders: Miha Zajc (Olimpija), Rok Kronaveter (Olimpija), Blaz Vrhovec (NK Celje);
Forwards: Andraz Šporar (Olimpija), Jean-Philippe Mendy (NK Maribor), Blessing Elek (Olimpija)

Manja Rogan’s main rival also played in her own team, ZNK Teleing Pomurje Beltinci, which claimed their 5th consecutive league title. Rogan, a 20-year old midfielder and Slovenian national team player, narrowly beat Tjasa Tibaut, collecting just three more votes.

2016 SPINS Blaz Manja 640

Blaz Vrhovec and Manja Rogan

Czech Republic

More than 320 professional footballers from the Czech First League picked Michal Duris as the Best Player in their country, in a poll organised by local players union CAFH.

The Slovakian forward was the main leader of defending champions Viktoria Plzen, scoring 16 goals in 25 matches.

Union manager Dominik Rodinger handed over the trophy to Duris.

2016 CAFH Michal Duris 400