See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Female footballers have joined forces to protect the future of the women's game in Australia.

It follows a historic first meeting of Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) W-League delegates which saw players from across the country resolve to drive change.

The players identified key areas of concern after reviewing results of an extensive survey of the working conditions in the W-League (Australia's premier national club competition for women).

PFA Player Relations Executive Kathryn Gill said the meeting further highlighted the depth of knowledge the players possess and how their influence, as key stakeholders, can create positive outcomes.

“Players have an unrivalled understanding of the game,” said Gill. “This enables them to act in its best interests and this was consistently on display at the meeting.

“The players want to drive the progress of the women’s game. They rightly believe that its potential is enormous and that it has a significant role to play in the professionalisation of elite women’s sport.

“What was clear throughout the day was that the players are determined to ensure the game can offer the nation’s most talented athletes a genuine career path."

The coming months will see players look to make headway on basic workplace standards, including:

  • Minimum medical standards;
  • Minimum standards for facilities; and
  • Insurance to cover players for loss of income when injured.

Perth Glory captain and Matildas forward Sam Kerr said it was inspiring to work alongside her peers on creating change for the W-League.

“The W-League has the potential to be amongst the very best women’s competitions in the world,” said Kerr. “This is ambitious, but achievable.

“We want to make sure that those who pursue a career in football can do so knowing it can provide them with a decent quality of life and that they will be provided with working conditions that recognise and respect their status as the nation’s top players.”

About the W-League

Established in 2008, the nine-team W-League typically runs from October to February and includes a 12-round regular season. Australia's national champion is decided by a top-four playoff series which ends with two teams meeting in the W-League Grand Final.