See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


The members of the FIFA FIFPro World 11 are divided in four lines (goal, defence, midfield and attack), which means that there are four players who just missed out on an invitation for the planet’s best team: Gianluigi Buffon, Thiago Silva, Paul Pogba and Neymar Jr.

All four have won a World 11 award before, with Silva, Pogba and Neymar picking up the prize last year.

This year proved to be different. Pogba was very close, failing just two votes to equal the total of Toni Kroos. The French midfielder was beaten on the last day of the election, when he had to surrender his slim lead over his German rival after the votes of the last four teams were counted: Arsenal, Tottenham Hotspur, Dutch side Fortuna Sittard and Real Madrid, Kroos’ team ...

Buffon, Silva and Neymar needed more than two votes to beat their closest rivals.

Buffon (award winner in 2006 and 2007) stood no chance against Manuel Neuer, who collected 6,000 more votes than the Italian veteran.

Silva lacked 561 votes in his battle with Gerard Pique. Neymar needed another 830 votes to overtake his team mate Luis Suarez.

2016 World11 ranking 640