See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Nine players make their debut on the 55-player shortlist that FIFPro, the worldwide players’ union, and FIFA today announced for the 2016 FIFA FIFPro World11.


The nine debutants are Serge Aurier, Hector Bellerin, Leonardo Bonucci, Kevin De Bruyne, Paulo Dybala, Antoine Griezmann, N’Golo Kante, Dimitri Payet and James Vardy.


Two players make their comeback after missing out in 2015, Claudio Bravo and Mesut Ozil, while Gonzalo Higuain returns after his only appearance in 2010.


Predict the World 11 for your chance to win an all-expenses paid trip for two people to meet the world’s biggest football stars!


Nine household names disappeared from this year’s shortlist: Iker Casillas (5 World 11 awards), John Terry (5 awards), Andrea Pirlo, Arjen Robben and Wayne Rooney (1 award each), Branislav Ivanovic, Yaya Touré, Vincent Kompany and Carlos Tévez. Three younger players also did not receive enough votes to be included on the list: Thiago Alcantara, Douglas Costa and James Rodriguez.

It is the first time in the 12-year World 11-history that Pirlo and Rooney have not been picked for the last 55, leaving Gianluigi Buffon and Cristiano Ronaldo as the only two players who have always been chosen by their peers.

The 2016 FIFA FIFPro World11 will be announced at The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony in Zurich on 9 January 2017.


By the players, for the players

The FIFA FIFPro World11 is decided by the players, for the players. It involves votes from nearly 25,000 professional footballers from about 70 different countries. Each player can select one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards.

FIFPro and its national affiliates are responsible for gathering votes from professional footballers worldwide. For more information on the voting procedure, please click here.


The 55-player shortlist:

(home country/club)

Goalkeepers (5):

Claudio Bravo (Chile/FC Barcelona/Manchester City)

Gianluigi Buffon (Italy/Juventus)

David de Gea (Spain/Manchester United)

Keylor Navas (Costa Rica/Real Madrid)

Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich).


Defenders (20):

David Alaba (Austria/FC Bayern Munich)

Jordi Alba (Spain/FC Barcelona)

Serge Aurier (Cote d’Ivoire/Paris Saint-Germain)

Hector Bellerìn (Spain/Arsenal)

Jerome Boateng (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)

Leonardo Bonucci (Italy/Juventus)

Daniel Carvajal (Spain/Real Madrid)

Giorgio Chiellini (Italy/Juventus)

Dani Alves (Brazil/FC Barcelona/Juventus)

David Luiz (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain/Chelsea)

Diego Godin (Uruguay/Atletico Madrid)

Mats Hummels (Germany/Borussia Dortmund/FC Bayern Munich)

Philipp Lahm (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)

Marcelo (Brazil/Real Madrid)

Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona)

Pepe (Portugal/Real Madrid)

Gerard Pique (Spain/FC Barcelona)

Sergio Ramos (Spain/Real Madrid)

Thiago Silva (Brazil/Paris Saint-Germain)

Raphael Varane (France/Real Madrid).


Midfielders (15):

Xabi Alonso (Spain/FC Bayern Munich)

Sergio Busquets (Spain/FC Barcelona)

Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/Manchester City)

Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea)

Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona)

N’Golo Kante (France/Leicester City/Chelsea)

Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid)

Luka Modric (Croatia/Real Madrid)

Mesut Ozil (Germany/Arsenal)

Dimitri Payet (France/West Ham United)

Paul Pogba (France/Juventus/Manchester United)

Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona)

David Silva (Spain/Manchester City)

Marco Verratti (Italy/Paris Saint-Germain)

Arturo Vidal (Chile/FC Bayern Munich).


Strikers (15):

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City)

Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid)

Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid)

Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid)

Paulo Dybala (Argentina/Juventus)

Antoine Griezmann (France/Atletico Madrid)

Gonzalo Higuain (Argentina/Napoli/Juventus)

Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain/Manchester United)

Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich)

Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona)

Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich)

Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona)

Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal)

Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona)

Jamie Vardy (England/Leicester City)


Click here for more information about the 55 players on the shortlist