See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Two new members were elected to the executive committee of FIFPro Division America, during last week’s General Assembly in Guayaquil, Ecuador.

Alejandro Sequeira (Costa Rica) and Juan Garcia (Venezuela) have joined the board that already included President Rinaldo Martorelli, Vice President Fernando Revilla, Secretary General David Paniagua and Legal Director Carlos González Puche.

Both Garcia and Sequeira are from relatively new unions. Garcia is the President of the AUFPV, which was established five years ago and is a FIFPro member since October 2014. Sequeira is the President of the Costa Rican players’ association, which is a FIFPro member since 2011 after its establishment in 2007.

The current six executive committee members will remain in place until 2017.

Among the issues discussed during Division America’s General Assembly were the current status of all affiliated unions, the improvement of good governance structures and the development of women’s football within the American unions.

FIFPro and the Ecuadorian players’ association AFE especially welcomed several female players of Ecuador’s national team, who participated in the 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada, and two female footballers from Venezuela, who are playing in Ecuador.

Another special guest was Agustin Delgado. The 41-year old former national team player (71 appearances) is currently a member of parliament. Delgado shared his visions on how to defend players’ rights in both Ecuador and South America.

The congress was attended by representatives of player associations from Brazil, Bolivia, Colombia, Chile, Costa Rica, Ecuador, Honduras, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, the United States and Venezuela. All are FIFPro members except for observers Honduras, Mexico and Panama.

2016 Board America 640

Alejandro Sequeira, Juan Garcia, Ivan Hurtado, Rinaldo Martorelli, Fernando Revilla,
Carlos González Puche and David Paniagua