See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Robert Lewandowski can add the German player of the year title to his honours’ list. The Polish striker was chosen by his colleagues in Germany in a vote organized by player union VDV.

Lewandowski was the most productive player for Bayern Munich, which clinched its 5th consecutive championship crown. The 28-year old striker scored 30 times and added 8 assists. No other player in the Bundesliga was involved in so many goals

Almost 38 per cent of all players voted for Lewandowski, with Anthony Modeste (FC Köln, 11%) and Thiago Alcantara (Bayern, 10%) finishing second and third.

In January Lewandowski received his sixth consecutive Polish player of the year award after a vote organized by Polish player union PZP.

The VDV also handed out trophies for the best newcomer and best manager, and the presented their team of the year, the VDV 11.

Borussia Dortmund’s Ousmane Dembele was the best newcomer, while Hoffenheim’s Julian Nagelsmann was overwhelmingly picked as best manager, receiving 64% of all votes.

Lewandowski was one of six Bayern players in the VDV 11, however runner-up Modeste was surprisingly omitted from that elite squad, which included Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang as second striker.

VDV 11

Goalkeeper: Manuel Neuer (Bayern);
Defenders: Philipp Lahm (Bayern), Niklas Süle (Hoffenheim), Mats Hummels (Bayern) and David Alaba (Bayern München);
Midfielders: Emil Forsberg (RB Leipzig), Thiago Alcántara (Bayern), Naby Keïta (RB Leipzig) and Ousmane Dembele (Dortmund);
Attackers: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern) and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Dortmund).