See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Andrea Pirlo is the Player of the Year in Italy. The Juventus midfielder was chosen by his peers, all professional footballers in Italy, in a vote organized by the AIC - the Italian professional footballers association.


Pirlo received his award during the Gran Galà del Calcio Aic, which was televised live on Italian TV. Union president Damiano Tomassi handed over the award to the 33-year old midfielder of Juventus and the Italian national team for his performance in the 2011-2012 season.


Pirlo captured the Italian championship with Juventus and reached the final of Euro 2012 with Italy. For both teams he was the man who directed the offense from his midfield position.


Pirlo’s teammate Gianluigi Buffon and Napoli striker Edinson Cavani were also nominated for the Best Player of the Year Award.


The AIC celebrated more of Italy’s finest players. Among others, the Italian union presented the Migliori 11: the best team from the Serie A.
Goal keeper: Gianluigi Buffon (Juventus);
Defenders: Christian Maggio (Napoli), Federico Balzaretti (Napoli/Roma), Thiago Silva (Milan/PSG), Andrea Barzagli (Juventus);
Midfielders: Antonio Nocerino (Milan), Andrea Pirlo (Juventus), Claudio Marchisio (Juventus);
Forwards: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Milan/PSG), Edinson Cavani (Napoli), Antonio Di Natale (Udinese).


Other prize winners:
Best Young Player: Stephan El Shaarawy (Milan) and Luis Muriel (Udinese/Lecce)
Coach of the Year: Antonio Conte (Juventus)
Lifetime Achievement Award: Filippo Inzaghi
Loyalty Award: Javier Zanetti (Inter)
Team of the Year: Juventus
Best Referee: Nicola Rizzoli



Click to enlarge. Photo AIC