See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Liam Kelly, coach of the Irish team PFAI, has named an 18-man squad for the FIFPro Winter Tournament 2011 in Oslo, Norway on Friday 14 January 2011. The team of the Irish footballers’ association will compete with teams from Finland, Norway and Sweden.


‘We have been training for this tournament since 12 December with over 30 players attending sessions at both the AUL and Glebe North training grounds’, said Kelly (pictured right). His team consists of footballers who are looking for a new professional footballers’ contract.


‘Our preparation has been very good considering the weather and the logistics of players coming to training and then signing for league clubs. We've had 15 training sessions and we've won both friendly games, against Glebe North (4-0) and Phoenix (4-2). We as well had a practice game on Saturday between the squad.’


‘All the players are looking forward to taking part in this tournament and hopefully this event will become a regular feature for the PFAI and FIFPro’, said Kelly. It is the first time that FIFPro organizes a Winter Tournament. The worldwide players’ union has already hosted six tournaments in summer, from 2005 until 2010.




The PFAI squad:

Billy Brennan (UCD)
Aaron Shanahan (Longford Town)


Liam Burns (Dundalk)
Sean Kelly (Limerick FC)
Brian Gartland (Monaghan Utd)
Mark Rossiter (Bohemian FC)
Brian Shelley (Bohemian FC)
Aidan Price (Shamrock Rovers)
Shaun Kelly (Dundalk)


Dean Marshall (Athlone Town)
Darren Meenan (Drogheda Utd)
Bobby Ryan (Limerick FC)
Stuart Byrne (St Patrick's Athletic)


Mark Leech (Shelbourne)
Eamon Zayed (Sporting Fingal)
Daryl Kavanagh (Waterford Utd)
Glen Fitzpatrick (Drogheda Utd)
Karl Moore (UCD)