See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Christian Eriksen and Pernille Harder received top honours in Denmark, while Constantin Budescu collected the player of the year award in Romania.

Romanian player union AFAN hosted a gala last Sunday in Bucharest to hand out awards to the best players from their country in 2017, as chosen by their peers.

Constantin Budescu began 2017 as a player for Astra Giurgiu and transferred to Steaua Bucuresti in June.

Among the recipients of other awards were Dennis Man (best young player), Filipe Teixeira (best foreign player) and Gheorghe Hagi (best coach).

AFAN also created a team of the year based on player votes: Florin Nita, Romario Benzar, Mihai Balasa, Bogdan Ţîru, Cristian Ganea, Constantin Budescu, Filipe Teixeira, Mihai Pintilii, Harlem Gnohere, Denis Alibec, Alexandru Baluta.


Pernille Harder retained her crown as best Danish female player, her third in succession. In 2017, the 25-year old striker won the silver medal at the women’s European championship with Denmark and took the German double with VfL Wolfsburg.

“You can always do better. Now I would like to win the Champions League,” Harder said on the website of player union Spillerforeningen, which organized the vote.

Christian Eriksen’s biggest achievement was qualifying with Denmark for the 2018 World Cup in Russia. He scored a hattrick in the crucial play-off match against Ireland. The 25-year old Tottenham midfielder won his fourth title in five years.

Andreas Christensen (21, Chelsea) and Signe Kallesøe Bruun (19, Fortuna Hjørring) were named best young male and best young female player respectively.