See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


The Greek player union, PSAP, introduced new awards for the women’s game during its 35th annual gala.

The PSAP handed out awards to PAOK for winning the Women’s Championship, and to the Greek Women’s Under-17 team (photo below), for reaching the group stage of the European Championship.

“We introduced these awards to illustrate that we support our female colleagues and encourage the development and improvement of their rights and their game," PSAP General Secretary Stamatis Sirigos said.

The PSAP is planning to amend its statutes to allow female players to become members, clearing the way for an individual female player award.

2017 PSAP U17 640


Kostas Fortounis picked up three men's awards during the event, broadcast live on Greek television.

Fortounis was recognized as best Greek player and top scorer. The Olympiakos forward was also a member of the team of the year,

Among those in the audience of 500 were Spyros Kapralos, president of the Greek Olympic Committee; Synadinos Ioulios, Sports General Secretary, who attended with several members of parliament; and Theo van Seggelen, FIFPro Secretary General.

Team of the Year

Goal: Roberto Jiménez Gago (Olympiakos);
Defence: Rodrigo Galo (AEK), Arthur Masuaku (Olympiakos), Giorgos Tzavellas (PAOK) and Rodrigo Moledo (Panathinaikos);
Midfield: Zeka (Panathinaikos), Manolis Siopis and Anastasios Bakasetas (both Panionios);
Attack: Kostas Fortunis (Olympiakos), Garry Rodrigues (PAOK), Markus Berg (Panathinaikos).

Three players now playing abroad travelled to Greece to receive their awards: Roberto (Espanyol, Spain), Tzavellas (Antalyaspor, Turkey) and Rodrigues (Galatasaray, Turkey).

Other winners included:
Best Foreign Player: Marcus Berg (Panathinaikos, Sweden)
Best Young Footballer Haris Harisis (PAOK)
Best Goalkeeper: Roberto (Olympiakos)
Best Coach: Marinos Ouzounidis (Panionios)
Fair Play: Chania FC players

2017 PSAP Team 640


All photos by Filippidis G.