See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Three players from the team of French professional footballers union UNFP - Bernard Mendy (top photo), Raphael Romey and Johann Letzelter - were selected by Indian Soccer League clubs during the draft of foreign (non-Indian) players that was held this Thursday August 21st.

Last month the three French defenders participated in the 2014 FIFPro Tournament.

Letzelter was chosen by Mumbai City FC, Mendy was picked by Chennai, and Romey learned that he was taken by Kerela Blasters during the draft. At this event in Mumbai all eight teams that form the newly created Indian Soccer League had the opportunity to choose from a pool of 49 foreign players.

All three professional footballers showcased their talents at this summer's FIFPro Tournament as a member of Team UNFP, the team of the French players' union. They reached the final, in which they were narrowly beaten by Spain.

Next to these three players, UNFP announced that two other footballers who participated in the FIFPro Tournament found a new club: Julien Toudic and David Fleurival. Forward Toudic signed a contract with CA Bastia, which relegated last season to the French third division (Championnat National). Midfielder Fleurival joined Polish premier league side Zawisza Bydgoszcz, which was last season's number six and participated in the Europa League qualifying rounds. Zawisza was knock-out by Zulte Waregem in the second round.

For the 25th time, the French players union organised its Stage UNFP, a training camp for professional footballers who are looking for a new contract. Since the start of this summer's training,camp twelve players have signed a new contract. Besides the five aforementioned players, the following footballers have also been successful: Timothée Dieng (Oldham, England, 3), Thibaut Bourgeois (CA Bastia, 3), Gaël Vena (Amiens, 3), Christopher Joufreau (Grenoble, 4), Muritala Ola Ogunbiyi (Paris FC, 3), Adama Coulibaly (Valenciennes, 2) and Wilfried Rother (Istres, 3).


Four more FIFPro Tournament participants move to India

Next to the Mendy, Letzelter and Romey, four more FIFPro Tournament "veterans" were picked during the Indian Soccer League draft. Bruno Herrero, Victor Herrero and Javi Fernández were members of the 2014 Team AFE from Spain, that won the FIFPro Tournament. Edgar Marcelino was a member of Portuguese Team SJPF during the 2013 FIFPro Tournament.
 Bruno Herrero, Delhi Dynamo FC
 Victor Herrero, Kerela Blasters
 Javi Fernández, Mumbai City FC
 Edgar Marcelino, Goa United Bishops



David Fleurival, Julien Toudic, Johann Letzelter and Raphael Romey


Also read: FIFPro Tournament MVP heads to India