See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Edinson Cavani followed in the footsteps of his former teammate Zlatan ibrahimovic as players in France picked him as their player of the year.

The Uruguayan striker of Paris Saint-Germain receiveid his award at the Trophees UNFP gala, held in Paris on Monday May 15th.

Olympique Lyon’s Dzenifer Marozsan picked up this year's best female player award.

Edinson Cavani beat three other nominees to the title, his teammate Marco Verratti, Bernardo Silva (AS Monaco) and Alexandre Lacazette (Olympique Lyon). The 30-year old striker has scored a league-leading 35 goals in 35 matches. He can break the 50-goal barrier in the final match of the season, as he has made 49 goals in 48 official club matches.

“I want to thank my teammates who gave me the opportunity to be here tonight,” Cavani reacted. “And I also wish to thank all players who voted for me.” 

Cavani succeeded Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who won the award in 2013, 2014 and 2016.

League leaders and soon-to-be champions (?) AS Monaco collected three awards. Kylian Mbappé Lottin was the best young player, Danijel Subasic was the best goalkeeper and Leonardo Jardim was the best manager. Six Monaco players were included in the UNFP team of the year.

UNFP Team of the Year

Goalkeeper: Danijel Subasic (AS Monaco);
Defenders: Djibril Sidibé (AS Monaco), Kamil Glik (AS Monaco), Thiago Silva (Paris SG), Benjamin Mendy (AS Monaco);
Midfielders: Mika Seri (OGC Nice), Marco Verratti (Paris SG), Bernardo Silva (AS Monaco);
Forwards: Alexandre Lacazette (Ol.Lyon), Edinson Cavani (Paris SG), Kylian Mbappé Lottin (AS Monaco).

Dzsenifer Marozsan, in her first year in France, helped Lyon to claim its 11th consecutive league title and reach the Champions League final, where PSG will be trying to snatch the cup from their rivals. German midfielder Marozsan beat teammate Eugénie Le Sommer, and PSG’s duo Shirley Cruz and Christiane Rozeira. 

More awards:

Best French Player Abroad:
N’Golo Kanté (Chelsea)

Best Player League 2:
John Bostock (RC Lens)

Best Young Female Player:
Sakina Karchaoui (Montpellier HSC)

Best Referee:
Ruddy Buquet

UNFP Honorary Award:
Raymond Kopa

Best Goal:
Memphis Depay (Ol. Lyon)
Click here to watch Depay's goal of the year



FIFPro is committed to protecting and respecting your privacy. To read our new Privacy and Cookie Statement, please click on the More info button. By clicking ‘Accept cookies’, you are agreeing to cookies being placed during a visit to this website.