See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Through the years, FIFPro has noticed that football players and players’ associations have been very inventive during the election process for the FIFA FIFPro World XI. A very special video was created by players from Finnish club MyPa 47, for example.


During the nine years that FIFPro has been organizing the vote for the World XI, the World Footballers’ Association has been kept informed about how players participate in this election. In the ideal situation, the players associations arrange that clubs reserve a special room  for players to vote in seclusion. Most of the times, union representatives are allowed to visit the dressing rooms or training grounds.


When that’s not possible, the players association has to come up with other ideas, such as inviting players to their office, or taking the voting forms and the ballot box out to the parking lot, and having the players fill in their ballots between the cars.


None of those problems occur in Finland. Ten players of MyPa 47 (short for Myllykosken Pallo-47, this season’s number 6 team in the Finnish premier league, the Veikkausliiga) gathered in a room and created a special video. They wore the shirt of their favourite team and then discussed which players deserved to be on their World XI. For example, Ville Salmenkivi wore an Ajax jersey because his idol Jari Litmanen was very influential in his career. Considered the best player in Finnish football history, Litmanen played at Ajax from 1992 until 1999 and from 2002 until 2004.


Nosh A Lody and Antti Koskinen recorded the video of the discussion by their team-mates  David Ramadingaye, Riku Heinonen, Jere Pyhäranta, Pyry Soiri, Xhevdet Gela, Elias Inkilä, Ville Salmenkivi and Tommi Vesala.


Unfortunately, the players’ discussion was recorded in Finnish. According to the representatives of the Finnish footballers association JPY the following players were chosen by one or more MyPa men:  Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Joey Barton, Aaron Ramsey, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Radamel Falcao, Pablo Zabaleta, Cristiano Ronaldo, Per Mertesacker and Vincent Kompany.