See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


FIFPro, the World Players' Union, and FIFA today announced the fifteen forwards shortlisted for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2014 as part of the 55-men shortlist. All of three last year's winners are there, while two players return on the shortlist.

The FIFA FIFPro World XI is decided by the players, for the players. It involves votes from tens of thousands of footballers worldwide. FIFPro asked these players to choose one goalkeeper, four defenders, three midfielders and three forwards who – in their opinion – were the best in their position in 2014.

For more information about the voting procedure, click here

The shortlist for the forwards

Sergio Agüero (Argentina, Manchester City FC)
Gareth Bale (Wales, Real Madrid CF)
Karim Benzema (France, Real Madrid CF)
Diego Costa (Spain, Chelsea FC)
Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid CF)
Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris Saint-Germain FC)
Robert Lewandowski (Poland, FC Bayern Munich)
Lionel Messi (Argentina, FC Barcelona)
Thomas Müller (Germany, FC Bayern Munich)
Neymar (Brazil, FC Barcelona)
Marco Reus (Germany, Borussia Dortmund)
Franck Ribéry (France, FC Bayern Munich)
Arjen Robben (The Netherlands, FC Bayern Munich)
Wayne Rooney (England, Manchester United FC)
Luis Suárez (Uruguay, FC Barcelona)



Shortlist facts

  • Cristiano Ronaldo, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Lionel Messi were last year's World XI forwards. Ronaldo and Messi are joint recordholders with 7 World XI awards. They have been selected for the World XI since 2007. Ibrahimovic has one World XI award.
  • Franck Ribéry was also a member of last year's World XI, albeit as a midfielder.
  • Wayne Rooney is the only other forward on the current shortlist who has received a World XI award, in 2011.
  • In 2013, Gareth Bale, Marco Reus, Arjen Robben and Franck Ribéry were all mentioned on the midfielders shortlist.
  • Karim Benzema and Thomas Müller return on the shortlist. Benzema was last mentioned in 2012, Müller's previous nomination was for the 2010 shortlist.
  • Six players from last year's forwards shortlist have disappeared from this year's nominees: Mario Balotelli, Edinson Cavani, Didier Drogba, Radamel Falcao, Mario Mandzukic and Robin van Persie.
  • Didier Drogba had been nominated on all 9 previous shortlists since the introduction of the World XI in 2005. The Ivory Coast striker was once selected for the World XI, in 2007.
  • Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney are the only two forwards who have been mentioned on all ten shortlists since the introduction of the World XI in 2005. They join goalkeeper Gianluigi Buffon and midfielder Andrea Pirlo as the only players with ten nominations.


Click here for more information about players on the shortlist


Click here for the full 55-player shortlist



Click here to enlarge