See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


The new FIFPro board has met to discuss proposals that are expected to lead to the biggest changes to the football player transfer market in two decades.

FIFPro is cooperating with FIFA, leagues and clubs in a task force established earlier this year to conduct a comprehensive review of FIFA’s Regulations on the Status and Transfer of Players (RSTP).

In what was the first meeting since officially taking on their roles, FIFPro’s 13-member board discussed a wide range of issues relating to the transfer market and employment conditions of professional footballers.

“This is a key moment for the football industry, and the 60,000 players we represent,” FIFPro General Secretary Theo van Seggelen said after the meeting in Hoofddorp, the Netherlands.

“With new board members, and the fresh energy they bring, we are looking forward to working with the other football stakeholders to strengthen the employment rights of all footballers,” Van Seggelen added.

The task force recommendations made by FIFPro and other participants will be presented to FIFA’s Football Stakeholders Committee over the course of 2018 and beyond.

Piat and Theo

In addition, FIFPro is set to launch a new study involving a collection of the world's leading players to understand how they cope with match congestion. This research is designed to ensure players are not overloaded by their clubs and national teams.

Finally, FIFPro has established a task force to assess emerging technology that could impact the intellectual property rights of players. The task force, which convenes March 1-2, will study the evolution of broadcasting, including developments around virtual and augmented reality, as well as the use of performance data via wearable tracking devices.

New FIFPro Board

President: Philippe Piat (France)
Board members: , Francis Awaritefe (Australia), Bobby Barnes (England), Jesus Diaz Peramos (Spain), Louis Everard (The Netherlands), Camila Garcia Perez (Chile), Carlos Gonzalez Puche (Colombia), Caroline Jonsson (Sweden), Geremi Njitap (Cameroon), Mads Øland (Denmark), Fernando Revilla (Peru), Damiano Tommasi (Italy), Lucien Valloni (Switzerland).
Secretary General: Theo van Seggelen (The Netherlands).

Photo (top): Theo van Seggelen and FIFPro board members Fernando Revilla (left) and Carlos Puche (right)

Photo (centre): FIFPro President Philippe Piat listens intently during discussions to reform football's transfer rules

Photo (bottom): New 13-member FIFPro board convenes for the first time since officially taking up their posts.

Board Overview