See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Gareth Bale and Jack Wilshire have been honoured by their fellow professionals in England, who have named them Players’ Player and Young Player of the Year at the annual PFA awards ceremony, the gala of the Professional Footballers Association.


Gareth Bale beat off the challenges of rival nominees Charlie Adam, Samir Nasri, Scott Parker, Rafael van der Vaart, Carlos Tévez and Nemanja Vidic to claim this top prize.


The 21-year-old Welsh international from Tottenham Hotspur is having a great season, as an attacking wing back who creates numerous opportunities with his speed, passing and shooting. He reserved some of his very best performances for the Champions League; notably in two memorable games against reigning European champions Internazionale.


‘It’s a massive award and a great honour for me. This is the most coveted individual award in British football. It is the award players want to win the most’, reacted Bale, who follows in the illustrious Welsh footsteps of compatriots Ian Rush, Mark Hughes and Ryan Giggs as winner of this prestigious award. ‘There haven’t been too many Welshmen on the trophy, so it’s wonderful to join those great names. It just makes you go wow really.’


‘It is great for me personally. But it is not just for me, it is for all my team-mates that have helped me through the season and it is kind of for everyone really.’


Jack Wilshere received the Young Player of the Year Award. The 19-year-old Arsenal midfielder has been a revelation for the Gunners and has become something of a must-pick for Arsene Wenger. On 9 February 2011 he made his full England debut when he started in a friendly against Denmark.


Wilshere said: 'It is my first full season and it’s a massive award, especially as it’s been voted for by my fellow professionals. A number of Arsenal legends have won this award (the likes of Tony Adams, Nicolas Anelka, Paul Merson and Cesc Fabregas) and it’s good to keep the tradition going.'


Both Bale and Wilshere made the PFA Team of the Year: Edwin van der Sar (Man Utd), Bakary Sagna (Arsenal), Ashley Cole (Chelsea), Nemanja Vidic (Man Utd), Vincent Kompany (Man City), Nani (Man Utd), Samir Nasri (Arsenal), Wilshere (Arsenal), Bale (Tottenham), Carlos Tévez (Man City), Dimitar Berbatov (Man Utd).






Picture on top: PA Photos