See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


There need to be more American players in de FIFA/FIFPro World XI, according to the footballers who voted on the American continent. Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Kaká are undisputed in America.


FIFPro received ballots from seven American countries: Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Paraguay, Peru and the United States of America. With those votes the world's players' union created a World XI for each country.


Messi, Ronaldo and Kaká made the team in every American nation. Those three players are also the three latest footballers to be crowned as FIFA Player of the Year. And Kaká and Cristiano Ronaldo won the election of FIFPro Player of the Year in respectively 2006/07 and 2007/08. But while Messi and Ronaldo recently received their FIFA/FIFPro World XI Award in Zürich, Kaká was watching from the stands. He was the odd man out in a tight battle with Steven Gerrard, Xavi and Andrés Iniesta.


Kaká is not the only American player who did not make the FIFA/FIFPro World XI although he received thousands of votes in America. He is joined by goalkeeper Júlio César and defenders Lúcio and Maicon, all from Internazionale. César was picked in three of the seven countries, Maicon in four and Lúcio in five. In the end, Daniel Alves and Messi were the only Americans to make the FIFA/FIFPro World XI.


Just as in other divisions, Division Americas saw players chosen only in their own country. The United States named Tim Howard as best keeper, Peru judged Juan Vargas to be one of the four best defenders, and Brazil is of the opinion that defender Juan and striker Luis Fabiano belong in the World XI. Moreover, the Brazilians chose seven countrymen in their team, more than any other nation in the World.


Goal Júlio César
Defense Daniel Alves, Maicon, Lúcio, Juan
Midfield Steven Gerrard, Kaká, Frank Lampard
Attack Lionel Messi, Luis Fabiano, Cristiano Ronaldo
  Iker Casillas
  Maicon, Lúcio, John Terry, Carles Puyol
  Frank Lampard, Xavi, Kaká
  Lionel Messi, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Cristiano Ronaldo
  Júlio César
  Daniel Alves, Lúcio, John Terry, Maicon
  Steven Gerrard, Xavi, Kaká
  Lionel Messi, Samuel Eto'o, Cristiano Ronaldo
Costa Rica  
  Iker Casillas
  Daniel Alves, John Terry, Rio Ferdinand, Carles Puyol
  Steven Gerrard, Xavi, Kaká
  Lionel Messi, Samuel Eto'o, Cristiano Ronaldo
  Iker Casillas
  Daniel Alves, John Terry, Lúcio, Carles Puyol
  Kaká, Xavi, Andrea Pirlo
  Lionel Messi, Didier Drogba, Cristiano Ronaldo
  Júlio César
  Daniel Alves, Lúcio, John Terry, Juan Vargas 
  Kaká, Xavi, Andrés Iniesta 
  Lionel Messi, Eto'o, Cristiano Ronaldo 
  Tim Howard
  Maicon, John Terry, Nemanja Vidic, Patrice Evra
  Steven Gerrard, Xavi, Kaká
  Lionel Messi, Fernando Torres, Cristiano Ronaldo