See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


William Kvist has won the award for Best Player in the Danish Superliga. He was the winner of the vote organized by the Danish footballers’ association Spillerforeningen.


William Kvist is the captain of FC Copenhagen (FC København), the team that surprised by reaching the final 16 of the current edition of the Champions League. The 25-year old Kvist is a hard-working midfielder, who plays in central midfield for the Danish champions. The 16-time international had a splendid 2009-2010 season, according to his fellow professional footballers.


‘I am really proud’, Kvist reacted. ‘This is the price I like to receive the most. It’s a great feeling knowing that your colleagues have chosen you, because they are the best judges and also the most critical judges. It was one of my goals to one day be the best player in the Superliga. I am now.’


There were more players who received an award. Christian Eriksen was named Danish Talent of the Year. On Wednesday the 18-year old attacking midfielder from Ajax showed why he was picked by playing his best game of the current season and helping his team beat AC Milan 2-0 at the San Siro in Italy. He has already made ten appearances in the Danish national team and was part of the 2010 World Cup squad.


Eriksen: ‘It is something different receiving an award from the players in stead of a prize based on an SMS poll. Being an 18-year old, this award is very important to me. And now I go after the biggest prize: in a few years I want to be the Footballer of the Year.’


Eriksen did not make the Team of the Year. Kvist did. He is joined by three team mates from FC København: Mathias Jørgensen, Martin Vingaard and Jesper Grønkjær. Six of the eleven players from this squad play abroad. Besides the four players from FC Copenhagen, only goalkeeper Anders Lindegaard plays in Denmark: Aalesund FK.


Team of the Year 2010

Goalkeeper Anders Lindegaard Aalesund FK
Defenders Lars Jacobsen West Ham United (Eng)
  Simon Kjær VfL Wolfsburg (Ger)
  Daniel Agger Liverpool (Eng)
  Mathias Jørgensen FC København
Midfield William Kvist FC København
  Martin Vingaard FC København
  Jesper Grønkjær FC København
Attack Dennis Rommedahl Olympiakos (Gre)
  Mads Junker Roda JC (Hol)
  Nicklas Bendtner Arsenal (Eng)