See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


A new milestone for women’s football. For the first time Colombian professional footballers’ association Acolfutpro organised a Female Player of the Year vote. Natalia Gaitán was the inaugural winner.

Gaitán, a 25-year old midfielder, captained Colombia’s national team at the 2015 Women’s World Cup.

She helped her team qualify for the final sixteen, surviving a group phase with England, France and Mexico.

In the knock-out stage, Colombia gave the United States a very hard time, however Las Cafeteras could not escape elimination by the Americans, who went on to become World Champions.

Gaitán, who last summer moved to Spain’s Valencia, was elected by her colleagues of the women’s national team.


Team of the Year

Players’ union Acolfutpro also handed out trophies to the winners of the 2015 Once Ideal, the Team of the Year. It was the second time that Acolfutpro organised this election. More than 800 professional footballers in Colombia picked their team.

Five players of reigning champions Atlético Nacional were among the recipients.

The 2015 Colombian Team of the Year is:

Goalkeeper: Franco Armani (Atlético Nacional);
Defenders: Yerri Mina (Santa Fe), Alexis Henríquez (Atlético Nacional), Francisco Meza (Santa Fe) and Farid Díaz (Atlético Nacional);
Midfielders: Daniel Torres (Medellín), Sebastián Pérez (Atlético Nacional) and Vladimir Hernández (Atlético Junior);
Forwards: Jefferson Duque (Atlético Nacional), Roberto Ovelar (Atlético Junior) and Harold Preciado (Deportivo Cali).


Acolfutpro Once2015 640