See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Balwant Singh won the pick of the awards as he was declared Indian Player of the Year during the star studded FPAI awards night held in Kolkata last week, organised by the Indian professional footballers association FPAI.

Singh was named Player of the Year by his peers in Indian professional football. The Churchill Brothers striker had a season tally of 16 goals and was instrumental in Churchill Brothers winning the Federation Cup and progressing to the next round of the AFC Cup. It was a remarkable feat, as Singh was out of football in the previous year.

Alwyn George scored a brace, not on the field but in the awards, as he bagged the Young Player of the Season the second year in running.

Daryl Duffy, Salgaocar's new Scottish recruit was the Foreign Player of the Season as he had set the I-League charts on fire scoring 14 goals this season and led Salgaocar to third place in the table.

Bengaluru FC chief coach, Ashley Westwood was rightly the Coach of the Season for leading the fledgling team, only a year old, to the pinnacle of Indian football.

Bothang Haokip, who played a key role in Shillong Lajong's brilliant run to lead them to their season high points tally, was voted the Fans' Player of the Season, a testament to the fan following in the north-east.

Among other notable award-winners were the recently retired Jose Ramirez Baretto, a Mohun Bagan legend who was awarded the McDowell No. 1 Spirit award for his contribution to Indian football. He came from Brazil to India in 1999 and has been one of the best foreigners to play in India in the last two decades. He announced his retirement in April 2014 but will stay in India to work on football development.

The Lifetime Achievement award went to Indian football legend, P.K. Banerjee. He has captained India, has participated in the Olympics and has been involved in professional football as an administrator, coach and advisor.

India all-winners--650

Darryl Duffy, Alwyn George, Balwant Singh, Jose Ramirez Barreto, Boithang Haokip