See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Gareth Bale has been named Player of the Year and Young Player of the Year by the English Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA). The Welsh player from Tottenham Hotspur is only the third man in history to win both awards in the same season. He was chosen by all professional footballers in England.


‘It’s great to win and I am delighted. This is a massive honour. To be voted by your peers is one of the biggest things in the game’, said Bale, the most prominent player of Tottenham, who are currently third in the Premier League table. The former left back has transformed himself into an attacking midfielder who scores and creates goal-scoring opportunities for others. He has scored 19 Premier League goals this season.  


‘When you look at the list there are some massive names on it and the other nominees have been unbelievable this year, but I couldn't have done it without the team. They have been fantastic this year and so has the manager (Andre Villas-Boas). I couldn't have won it without them so I would like to give them all a big thank you as well.’


The 23-year old Bale also was named PFA Player of the Year after the 2010-2011 season. This year he fought off competition from among others Robin van Persie (Manchester United and last season’s winner), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Eden Hazard and Juan Mata (both Chelsea).


PFA chairman Gordon Taylor said: ‘Gareth has had a tremendous season. He has had the same impact on Welsh football as Ryan Giggs did. He is part of the Southampton success story.’ Bale began his professional career as a teenager at Southampton. In 2007 he joined the Spurs.


Premier League Team of the Year:
David De Gea (Manchester United), Pablo Zabaleta (Manchester City), Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham Hotspur), Rio Ferdinand (Manchester United), Leighton Baines (Everton), Michael Carrick (Manchester United), Juan Mata (Chelsea), Gareth Bale (Tottenham Hotspur), Luis Suarez (Liverpool), Eden Hazard (Chelsea), Robin van Persie (Manchester United).