See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Professional footballers in Austria honoured Kevin Kampl and David Alaba with the most coveted awards during the 18th edition of the so-called Bruno Gala, which was organised by Austrian professional footballers association VdF.

At the Wiener Rathaus in the Austrian capital, more than 400 guests from football, sports, politics, the arts and the media witnessed the annual awards ceremony. The evening was dominated by reigning champions Red Bull Salzburg, who took home six of the awards.

Photo: George Alaba, Roger Schmidt and Kevin Kampl

Kevin Kampl was voted the Player of the Season by his peers, beating runner-up, team-mate and the league's top goalscorer Jonatan Soriano by just six votes. The 23-year old Slovenian forward helped Salzburg to the national title and the Austrian Cup, but also impressed during their strong showing in last season's Europa League, reaching the last sixteen. "We had a magnificent team", Kampl said upon receiving his award from Austria's legendary goalkeeper Michael Konsel. "We played great football, with many highs and few lows".

As mentioned, the team from Salzburg collected five more trophies: Jonatan Soriano (top goalscorer), Stefan Ilsanker (Best Newcomer), Roger Schmidt (Best Coach), Péter Gulásci (Best Goalkeeper) and the team itself (Best Team).

David Alaba retained the title of Best Player Abroad. He was chosen by his colleagues from the national team. It was the third consecutive year that the Bayern Munich player had received the award. Unfortunately his coach Pep Guardiola did not allow Alaba to travel to Vienna to pick up his trophy. Instead the player sent his father, George Alaba.

Father George brought his son's video message with him. "This award not only brings me joy, but is also very motivating to me. I want to thank the VdF and my colleagues from the national team who voted for me. I am also pleased to see the many young Austrian players who in recent years have moved abroad and are now trying to make a breakthrough in international club football. That also implies that it will be harder year after year to defend this title. And that is a good thing, because with the national team we have one common goal: Euro 2016."

Bruno Award winners:

Player of the Season: Kevin Kampl (FC Red Bull Salzburg)
Newcomer of the Season: Stefan Ilsanker (FC Red Bull Salzburg)
Top Goalscorer: Jonatan Soriano (FC Red Bull Salzburg)
Coach of the Season: Roger Schmidt (FC Red Bull Salzburg, currently Bayer Leverkusen)
Team of the Season: FC Red Bull Salzburg
Goalkeeper of the Season: Péter Gulásci (FC Red Bull Salzburg)
Best Player Abroad: David Alaba (Bayern Munich)
Referee of the Season: Harald Lechner
Second League Player of the Season: Hannes Aigner (SCR Altach)
Women's Team of the Season: NÖSV Neulengbach „Pflegeheim Beer"
Female Player of the Season: Nicole Billa (FSK St.Pölten/Spratzern)



Stefan Ilsanker, Roger Schmidt, Kevin Kampl and Jonatan Soriano


Click here for the video of the entire Bruno Gala