See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Brett Holman was the biggest winner in this year’s Professional Footballers Australia (PFA) Awards presented in Brisbane on Wednesday June 13th. The midfielder collected two awards: The PFA Player of the Year and the Best International Player of the Year.


Holman won the PFA Player of the Year Award, voted on by the wide network of PFA professional members. ‘Brett Holman was a standout player for both his club, AZ Alkmaar, and the Socceroos in the past year,’ said PFA President Simon Colosimo.


Holman had a splendid season at Dutch club AZ, which surprisingly performed well in the championship, national cup tournament and European competition. The 28-year old midfielder was one of the main driving forces as an attacking midfielder. He earned himself a transfer to Aston Villa.


Holman polled 270 votes with Alex Brosque second with 176 votes and Adam Federici coming in third with 154 votes. Colosimo continued: ‘It’s pleasing to see some new names and faces amongst the winners and nominees. It’s indicative of the level of confidence fellow professionals have in the younger generation coming through which is so necessary for our continuing international success.’


Brett Holman also collected the FMA International Player Award, presented by the Football Media Association (FMA). The PFA Awards were held in conjunction with the FMA Awards.


Holman was not the only winner at the gala. The women’s PFA Player of the Year Award went to Lydia Williams. Colosimo: ‘Lydia had an outstanding year, with her form for Canberra United being instrumental in helping Canberra win the W-League. She was equally impressive in the Olympic qualifiers keeping Australia in the match in several key fixtures.’


Central Coast’s goalkeeper Mat Ryan was awarded the Harry Kewell Medal for the most outstanding Under 23 player.


Former Socceroo great and the only Australian man to coach Australia, Frank Farina, was awarded the Alex Tobin Medal, the most prestigious of the PFA Awards, given only to the true legends of the sport who have demonstrated leadership, achievements as a player, commitment to fellow professionals and service and dedication to the game. Farina said he was ‘humbled, honoured and privileged’ to receive the medal.


Other awards given out included the Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships and Craig Foster Media Scholarship. Each scholarship recipient receives $5,000.


The Kimon Taliadoros Scholarships were awarded to retiring Wellington Phoenix player, Tim Brown, who is taking up a scholarship at London School of Economics and Kliment Taseski (Moreland Zebra’s) who is studying for a Business-Law double degree at LaTrobe University. The Craig Foster Media Scholarship was given to Jamie Harnwell (Sorrento FC) who, in the past season, has been well received as an expert commentator on FOX Sports.