See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


A total of 15 Spanish football players who took part in the VIII Edition of the AFE Sessions for players who don’t have a team found a club where they could continue carrying on their professional work.

The VIII Edition of the AFE Sessions, led by the former international footballer for Spain, Thomas Christiansen, had to end on 28 January, as it was scheduled to coincide on that date with the last day of the transfer window, owing to the fact that it was impossible to get enough players to make up a team for the last two games between the footballers with no contract and Hércules de Alicante CF and FC Piast Gliwice (Poland).

It’s worth recording that the five games played during this eighth edition of the initiative of the Association of Spanish Footballers (AFE) for those of its members who, for a variety of reasons, are not members of any team, resulted in three 1-0 victories against Shanghai Shenhua (Chinese Superleague), Club Alianza de Lima (Peruvian Primera Division) and Huracán Valencia CF (Segunda Division B) and with two 0-0 draws against CSKA Moscow (Russian Superleague) and FC Biel/Bienne (Swiss Challenge League).

AFE Sporting Director Vicent Blanco said: “We’d like to show our satisfaction at having succeeded in the main objective that the AFE Sessions have had from the start, namely to help the greatest possible number of footballers to find a team and to remind those who are still left without one that, as far as is within our power, we are doing everything possible to help them find a new employment.”

The following players, listed by their position, found a team during their stay with the AFE Sessions or in the days following the end of that phase:

Urtzi Iturrioz (SD Amorebieta, Second Division B Group II)

Alberto Heredia (Real Estelí FC, First Division Nicaragua)
Lulu Rodríguez (Caudal Deportivo, Second Division B Group I)
Juan Povedano (UD San Sebastián de los Reyes, Third Division Group VII)
José Antonio Picón (FC Cartagena, Second Division B Group IV)
Ayoze Díaz (CD Tenerife, Second Division A)

Miki Massana (SD Amorebieta, Second Division B Group II)
Salvi Valderrama (CD El Palo, Second Division B Group IV)
Aarón Bueno (UE Sant Andreu, Second Division B Group III)
Santi Aitor (CD Tenerife B, Third Division Group XII)
Xavi Moré (Burgos CF, Second Division B Group I)
Marc Serramitja (FK Kristiansund, Second Division Norway)
Omar Monterde (CD Castellón, Third Division Group VI)
Toni Moral (Al Ittihad Kalba SCC, Second Division United Arab Emirates)

Albert Yagüe (CD Castellón, Third Division)