See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


Australia's professional footballers have selected their 2015/16 A-League PFA Team of the Season (see below).

Defender Jade North (pictured) was named captain of the 16-man squad which is voted on by all of the PFA's A-League based members.

Danish veteran Thomas Sorensen is one of four Melbourne City players in the starting eleven. The former Stoke City, Sunderland and Aston Villa keeper, with more than 100 international caps to his name, has been an instant hit in his first campaign in Australia.

Former Barcelona midfielder Guillermo Amor was the players' choice for coach of the season. After topping the table, Amor took Adelaide United all the way to its first A-League championship with a 3-1 victory over Western Sydney Wanderers in the Grand Final.

For more details, click here to visit the PFA website.

The 2015/16 PFA A-League Team of the Season

Goalkeeper: Thomas Sorensen (Melbourne City).

Defenders: Josh Risdon (Perth Glory), Matthieu Delpierre (Melbourne Victory), Jade North (C) (Brisbane Roar), Scott Jamieson (Western Sydney Wanderers).

Midfielders: Corona (Brisbane Roar), Aaron Mooy (Melbourne City), Diego Castro (Perth Glory).

Forwards: Jamie Maclaren (Brisbane Roar), Bruno Fornaroli (Melbourne City), Harry Novillo (Melbourne City).

Substitutes: Mark Birighitti (Newcastle Jets), Nikolai Topor-Stanley (Western Sydney Wanderers), Mitch Nichols (Western Sydney Wanderers), Roly Bonevacia (Wellington Phoenix), Kosta Barbarouses (Melbourne Victory).

Coach: Guillermo Amor (Adelaide United).

Referee: Strebre Delovski