World 11 2010 2500 Getty

History - The FIFA FIFPRO World 11 0f 2010

World 11 News

Share this quote

World 11 2010 2500 Getty
Players from Spain and Internazionale aplenty in the 2010 FIFA FIFPRO World 11. Only two players did not play for one of those teams: Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo.

Spanish players secured yet another international title by winning the 2010 World Cup in South Africa. According to their peers, six of these world champions deserved being selected for the World 11: Iker Casillas, Gerard Pique, Carles Puyol, Xavi, Andres Iniesta and David Villa.

That same year, Internazionale took the Champions League title away from Barcelona. Three of the Nerazzurri were awarded with a spot in the World 11: Lucio, Maicon and Wesley Sneijder.

World 11 2010 1100
Young talented players voting: Thiago Alcantara and Neymar Jr.
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas
Defenders: Carles Puyol Gerard Pique Lucio Maicon
Midfielders Andres Iniesta Xavi Wesley Sneijder
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo David Villa Lionel Messi

List of 55

After winning the Champions League, nine Internazionale players received enough votes to appear on the List of 55 Most Voted Players: Julio Cesar, Lucio, Maicon, Walter Samuel, Javier Zanetti, Esteban Cambiasso, Sneijder, Samuel Eto'o, Diego Milito.

W11 Shortlist 2010 1100

The award ceremony

Three-time Ballon d'Or winner Marco van Basten presented the awards to the members of the FIFA FIFPRO World 11.