2009 World 11 2500

History - The FIFA FIFPRO World 11 0f 2009

World 11 News

Share this quote

2009 World 11 2500
The fifth edition of the World 11 was celebrated in Zurich, as FIFA joined FIFPRO in celebrating the most outstanding eleven players on the planet. For the first time in World 11 history, all players appeared on the same stage.

Four years after the first time that FIFPRO organised the vote for the World 11, the world player association came to an agreement with FIFA: FIFPRO would still be collecting the votes from professional footballers around the globe and FIFA would create a special ceremony.

And so it happened that on Monday 21 December 2009, FIFPRO and FIFA welcomed all members of the World 11.

World 11 2009 1100
John Terry and Andres Iniesta were welcomed at the ceremony by then FIFPRO President Gerardo Movilla
Goalkeeper: Iker Casillas
Defenders: Patrice Evra Nemanja Vidic John Terry Daniel Alves
Midfielders: Andres Iniesta Xavi Steven Gerrard
Forwards: Cristiano Ronaldo Fernando Torres Lionel Messi

John Terry made his fifth and final appearance in the World 11. At the same time, Andres Iniesta and Daniel Alves received their first of many World 11 awards. Since that day, Iniesta has earned nine awards, while Alves collected eight.

Manchester United's Nemanja Vidic and Patrice Evra also made their debut in the World 11. Vidic would receive a second trophy in 2011. 


List of 55

Nine players from Barcelona appeared on the List of 55 Players With the Most Votes. Two players make their debut on this list: Gerard Pique and Yaya Toure. Eight of those nine men would earn at least one World 11 award during their career: Alves, Thierry Henry, Zlatan Ibrahimovic, Iniesta, Messi, Pique, Carles Puyol and Xavi. 

World 11 2009 Shortlist 110

FIFPRO Interviews

During that special day, FIFPRO recorded interviews with all eleven World 11 players, including Iker Casillas, Fernando Torres and Cristiano Ronaldo.