Alex Morgan W11

Alex Morgan: "I'm very happy to be alongside 10 incredible athletes"

Player story

Share this quote

Alex Morgan W11
  • Alex Morgan reacts to being voted by fellow players for the 2022 FIFA FIFPRO World 11

  • World 11 is the only global football award decided exclusively by players

  • Morgan has now been named in the World 11 five times since award’s launch in 2015

Alex Morgan said she was "honoured" to be selected by her fellow professionals in the 2022 FIFA FIFPRO Women’s World 11, which was revealed at The Best FIFA Football Awards 2022 on Monday.

Voted for by footballers around the globe, the World 11 is an all-star team depicting the best players in the current game.  

Over 6,000 women’s players voted for the 2022 World 11, in which Alex Morgan was selected in a forward line alongside Sam Kerr and Beth Mead.

"I'm very honoured to be nominated for the FIFPRO World 11 by my peers," said the San Diego Wave and USA forward. "It's something I don't take lightly and I'm just very happy to be alongside the other 10 incredible athletes."

Morgan, who has over 200 USA caps, was voted into the World 11 by fellow professionals who selected players based on their performances for the period 7 August 2021 to 31 July 2022.

The forward played the starring role in USA’s title-winning performance in the 2022 Concacaf W Championship, scoring the only goal in the final against Canada from the penalty spot and was voted Player of the Tournament. In all, she netted three times to help the Americans lift the continental trophy for the ninth time.

Morgan has now been named in the World 11 five times, putting the American joined-second for all-time appearances with Lucy Bronze since the award’s launch in 2015. Only Wendie Renard (7) has more World 11 awards.

W11 Womens Team Reveal Web1100x700