See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


For the fifth time in a row, the professional footballers in Poland have chosen Robert Lewandowski as the Polish Player of the Year. The striker received 66 percent of the votes in the annual election organised by the Polish players union, PZP.

For the ninth edition of their vote, the PZP collected a record amount of 703 ballots from players in Poland. The players could vote for the best players of the Ekstraklasa (Polish first division), 1 Liga, 2 Liga and Ekstraliga (women’s league), and for the best Polish male and female player.

It was hardly a surprise that Lewandowski would be picked, as the Bayern Munich forward has had an excellent year. He ended as the top goal scorer in the qualifying phase of Euro 2016 with 13 goals in only 10 matches. And in the first half of this season he scored 15 goals in 16 league appearances for Bayern, and found the net 7 times in 6 Champions League games. Lewandowski almost made the World XI, taking fifth place in the forwards election.

Hungarian striker Nemanja Nikolic was voted Best T-Mobile Ekstraklasa Player. He joined Legia Warsaw from Videoton in June 2015, and quickly became a star in the best Polish football league, scoring 21 goals in 21 appearances for Legia.

Katarzyna Kiedrzynek is the best Polish Female Player. She is the goalkeeper of Paris Saint-Germain, but is not allowed to play for the Polish national team due to a conflict with the national team coach. Last season Kiedrzynek, who reached the final of the women’s Champions League with PSG (losing to FFC Frankfurt), was named the best goalkeeper of both the Champions League and the French Division 1.


Polish Player of the Year: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich, Ger)
Polish Female Player of the Year: Katarzyna Kiedrzynek (Paris Saint-Germain, Fra)
The Best Player of Ekstraklasa: Nemanja Nikolic (Legia Warszawa)
The Best Young Player of Ekstraklasa: Bartosz Kapustka (Cracovia)
The Biggest Revelation of Ekstraklasa: Bartosz Kapustka (Cracovia)
The Best Coach of Ekstraklasa: Michał Probierz (Jagiellonia Białystok)
The Best Referee of Ekstraklasa: Szymon Marciniak

PZP Team of the Year



By clicking ‘Accept cookies’, you are agreeing to cookies being placed during a visit to this website. If you would like to more about cookies, click on the ‘More info’ button.