See what's happening on Facebook Twitter YouTube Flickr


All over the world, representatives of professional footballers associations are travelling from club to club, to invite players to participate in the vote for the FIFA FIFPro World XI 2012. Today news from Switzerland.


The Swiss professional footballers association SAFP recently visited clubs from the country’s Super League, to invite them to fill in the ballots for the FIFA FIFPro World XI. Amongst others, the union representatives went to FC Sion, Lausanne Sport and Servette FC.


The Swiss capital Zurich has welcomed the FIFA Gala for many years, and thus has been the place where the members of the FIFA FIFPro World XI have been presented since FIFA and FIFPro decided to collaborate in this special election. Each year many football fans gather outside the Kongresshaus in Zurich to catch a glimpse of these great players.


Switzerland may host this event, in the seven-year history of the World XI, no Swiss player has managed to make it to the shortlist of the FIFA FIFPro World XI, let alone the World XI itself.


Who will be the first Swiss player to end this wait?


Switzerland has many talented players. In Italy, Stephan Lichtsteiner is a lock in the starting eleven of champions Juventus. Three Swiss midfield players play prominent roles at Napoli: Gokhan Inler, Valon Behrami and Blerim Dzemaili. During summer, Xherdan Shaqiri moved from FC Basel to Bayern München. Goalkeeper Yann Sommer is having a solid season at FC Basel. And the Swiss U-17 team was crowned World Champions in 2009. Some members of that team have already made it to the Swiss senior national team: Granit Xhaka (Borussia Mönchengladbach) and Nassim Ben Khalifa (Grasshoppers).


Click to enlarge




For the latest updates about the vote for the 2012 FIFA FIFPro World XI,

check the FIFPro website, the FIFPro Twitter account (#ffw11), FIFPro Flickr, or FIFPro Facebook.

We especially recommend you to regularly visit FIFPro Facebook, as we will be publishing various competitions with unique prizes.





FIFPro History